PO Box 2489
Yakima, WA 98907
Every three to five years Diane Charles puts together a wage survey to help us. It helps Opticians and Employers to make sure we are competive in the job market accross the state.
Please do your part and take the Survey
February 11 2014
Would you help OHIO by sharing what can happen to the eye if contact lenses are improperly dispensed?
Ohio is currently a multi-license state, including spectacle only, contact only and dual licensed. There is current legislation we’re fighting that will allow spectacle only opticians to dispense contact lenses if all they need to do is match a prescription to a box on a shelf. We all know there’s more to it than that and that’s why we’re fighting this legislation to protect the public.
We currently get slammed when asked, “Where’s the proof?” “Show us cases.” However, there’s no centralized reporting done for these things and HIPPA laws protect patients. Therefore, we’re left with simply finding examples of what can go wrong, such as a corneal abrasion.
Richard has been a speaker in Ohio for many years, and he was one of the first people I contacted for help. He thought you could put a request out there among the schools for the examples we seek. Examples can be sent directly to my e-mail below.
Please contact me if you have any questions. Thanks, in advance, for any assistance you can provide.
Opticians Association of Ohio
309 Olenview Circle West
Powell, Ohio 43065
Toll Free: 800-661-LENS (5367)
Save the date April 26-27 2014 Vancouver WA Red Lion at the Quay. Registration will be available soon.
The Opticians Association of Washington is asking the Department of Health to consider a rule change that governs the licensed practice of opticians in our state. Currently, opticians must have 30 hours of continuing education (CEs) in 3 years. The requested rule change does not change the overall number of CEs required or the current reporting requirement. The only change is to require that the same number of CEs be earned equally over the 3 year period – each year, every optician must earn 10 CEs. Because contact lenses are a class three medical device and sit on a person's eye, 5 of the 10 hours must be in contact lenses. This requested change is being sought to ensure that continuing education credits are acquired each year to keep licensed dispensing opticians abreast of current and forecasted developments which impact the professional role of Opticianry.
The change will not open our law in the legislature. It is an administrative change at the Department of Health. When it goes into effect on January 1st, 2015, it will only impact those at the end of their 3 year CE rotation in 2015, causing them to start a one year rotation. In other words, it will take 3 years to totally affect all optician licensees. After it’s in effect, you’ll find a checkbox on your license renewal asking if you’ve met the 10 CE yearly requirement. And, just as now, there will be only a random check asking for a copy of those CE’s.
We are sending you this notice to see if you have any questions or concerns about this proposal. If you do, please contact OAW Legislative Director, Diane Charles, at firstname.lastname@example.org.